The Best DIY and How-To Tutorials To Improve Your Home of October 2020

46 DIY Halloween Wreaths – How to Make Halloween Door Decorations

The Best DIY and How-To Tutorials To Improve Your Home of October 2020

1 of 46

Black Ribbon Halloween Wreath

An all-black wreath? We normally wouldn't dream of it, but on Halloween, anything goes! This witchy craft is anything but welcoming, but it'll delight all the trick-or-treaters in town.

Make the Wreath: Cut 150 6-inch-long strips of 2-inch-wide black grosgrain ribbon. Fold the strips in half and attach them to a 16-inch foam wreath form with straight pins, layering them on top of each other to create a ruffle effect.

Cut out a silhouette of a witch from black kraft paper. Attach it to the center of a 16-inch round clear piece of acrylic with double-sided tape. Hot-glue the edges of the acrylic round to the back of the wreath form. Finish with a bow with long tails.

SHOP BLACK RIBBON

2 of 46

DIY Vintage Masks Wreath

These cheerful, throwback masks are anything but scary. Still, they're totally on theme—and work perfectly as Halloween decor!

Make the Wreath: Source colorful vintage paper masks from
websites Etsy and eBay—you will need 10 to 15 total. Attach to an 18-inch craft ring with a dab of hot glue, layering and overlapping them as you go.

SHOP HOT GLUE

3 of 46

DIY Halloween Candy Wreath

Retro candy makes for a stunning addition to any front door. The challenge here, of course, is not eating it before you begin your crafting!

Make the Wreath: Gather an assortment of old-fashioned candies in autumnal shades such as yellow, orange, and magenta. Wrap a 14-inch foam wreath form in white ribbon. Attach candy with hot-glue, layering and overlapping as you go. Finish with a yellow burlap bow.

SHOP FOAM WREATH FORMS

4 of 46

DIY Spider Halloween Wreath

Keep things simple—but spooky—with an all-white wreath. Tiny faux spiders decorate the edges of this fun craft.

Make the Wreath: Tie six pieces of white string across a 14-inch foam wreath form, making sure to loop each one at the midway point of the first piece attached to create a central point. (This is the base of the web and should have 12 “spokes.

”) Tie a long piece ofstring to the center point; weave and loop from the center out to create the web. If you run string, tie another piece to the end and continue weaving. When you reach the wreath form, tie off at

your ending point. Move the twine up and down to create uneven gaps in the web.

Wrap the wreath form with white burlap ribbon and attach faux spiders with hot-glue. Loop a piece of white burlap

ribbon around the form to hang.

SHOP WHITE BAKER'S TWINE

5 of 46

DIY Twig Halloween Wreath

Simple meets spook-tacular in this easy homemade wreath, which gives your front door just the right amount of Halloween spunk without going overboard.

Get the tutorial at Twelve on Main.

SHOP CROWS

6 of 46

DIY Spider Halloween Wreath

7 of 46

Rainbow Pumpkin Wreath

Halloween should't be all dark and creepy. Paint a handful of mini gourds (true holiday staples!) to deck out your door with a bit of color.

Get the tutorial at Lovely Indeed.

SHOP PUMPKINS AND GOURDS

8 of 46

Chevron Halloween Wreath

10 of 46

Halloween Mesh Wreath

11 of 46

DIY Halloween Witch Wreath

12 of 46

Simple Halloween Wreath With Embroidery Hoop

14 of 46

Cute Ghost Wreath for Halloween

If you're handy with a needle and thread, embroider a wreath of friendly ghosts for your front door that won't scare visitors away.

Get the tutorial at Flamingo Toes.

SHOP ORANGE POM POM TRIM

15 of 46

Creepy Eyeball Wreath

16 of 46

Mysterious Mummy

17 of 46

Candy Corn Wreath

18 of 46

Owl Wreath

Owls are all the rage this time of year. To make this Halloween wreath, wrap burlap ribbon around a 16″ Styrofoam form, and follow the steps below.

For the eyes: Use utility scissors to cut a 5″ circle from a sisal doormat. Trim a 2″ strip from the edge of a raffia table skirt and hot-glue along the outer edge.

Next, hot-glue the outer ring of a 4 1/2″-inch Mason jar lid inside the raffia, securing it to the sisal circle. Hot-glue a metal bottle cap at the center of the ring and encircle with dried pumpkin seeds.

Hot-glue a red wood bead inside bottle cap. Repeat for second eye.

For the wings: Cut two 8″H x 5″W teardrop-shaped pieces from the doormat.

For the beak: Cut a 3″ triangle from the mat; cover with dried pumpkin seeds.

To assemble: Attach the beak, then the eyes and wings, with hot-glue.

SHOP BURLAP RIBBON

20 of 46

Halloween Skull Wreath

This spooky wreath, made entirely of skulls, is the spooky accessory your door needs this October.

Get the tutorial at Tried and True.

SHOP WIRE

22 of 46

Chevron Fabric Wreath

23 of 46

Googly Eyes Halloween Wreath

This wreath will always be watching you! Create this creepy design by placing googly eyes on ping-pong balls.

Get the tutorial at No. 2 Pencil.

SHOP PING PONG BALLS

24 of 46

Felt Wreath

Add a Halloween ornament to a classic felt wreath for the perfect seasonal touch. (Take note: heavy-weight felt will help give your wreath a fuller look.)

Get the tutorial at All Things Simple.

25 of 46

Ribbon Wreath

Although this blogger used a fresh batch of ribbon to create her fun take on a classic ribbon wreath, you can also create your own using bits and pieces of ribbon saved from past projects.

Get the tutorial at Create Craft Love.

26 of 46

Black Cat Wreath

27 of 46

Candy Corn Colors

Swatches of orange, red, and white create a candy corn illusion that you can keep on your front door for the entire season.

Get the tutorial at The House of Smiths.

28 of 46

Spooky Spider Wreath

Think outside the box — or in this case, inside the wreath. This blogger weaved a spider web inside a basic vine wreath using white yarn.

Get the tutorial at Chicken Scratch NY.

29 of 46

Yarn Pumpkins

Make a ton of tiny pumpkins to embellish a wreath that will look amazing on your front door for Halloween.

Get the tutorial at Craft-O-Maniac.

30 of 46

Black Crepe Paper Wreath

Fold four-inch-long strips of black streamers in half, then layer along your wreath form to make the perfect accent to your halloween-themed home.

Get the tutorial.

Source: https://www.countryliving.com/diy-crafts/g1951/diy-halloween-wreaths/

The Best DIY Apps of 2017

The Best DIY and How-To Tutorials To Improve Your Home of October 2020

We’ve selected these apps their quality, user reviews, and overall reliability as a source for people who want to dive into DIY. If you want to nominate an app for this list, email us at nominations@healthline.com.

Anyone on the quest to achieve good health knows that it involves a lot more than eating right and exercising.

Good health and wellness also means having peace of mind, a sense of self-worth, and an outlet for the feelings and emotions that you can’t quite explain or understand.

It turns out that crafting and art therapy have been known to help people with PTSD and depression. And that’s precisely why DIY is so awesome!

Starting a fun DIY project is one of the easiest ways to get your head and immerse yourself in the present moment. Plus, DIY offers tangible evidence of your hard work and leaves you with a special memento to keep.

Don’t know where to start? Fortunately, there are lots of apps to provide help and guidance.

Whether you’re brand new to the DIY scene or you’re a longtime aficionado, our top picks will help you take any project to the next (easier) level.

iPhone rating: ★★★★★

Android rating: ★★★★★

Price: Free

Redesigning your home can be just the thing you need to feel recharged and refreshed. But trying to envision what color should go where and which items should be replaced by what is quite the challenge.

This killer app by Houzz will let you experiment with different colors and pieces of decor directly in your home without the commitment.

You can search for new items and paint colors in their store, then use 3D technology and your phone’s camera to view exactly how they’d look in your home. This app makes paint swatches and stripes on your wall a thing of the past.

iPhone rating: ★★★★✩

Android rating: ★★★✩✩

Price: Free

It’s no secret that giving love and attention to another living thing can bring all kinds of good vibes. So, if you know you want to get your hands dirty but aren’t sure where to start, consider cultivating a little garden and let this app be your guide.

SmartPlant offers a breadth of tricks to make gardening easier. From plant identification to customized reminders of when and how to care for your particular plants, it’s definitely something any gardener — novice or expert — should have in their back pocket.

And once you’re done, you can sit back and enjoy that fresh air — indoors and outdoors.

iPhone rating: ★★★★★

Price: Free

If you simply have no idea where to start DIYing, then start with Snapguide. This app, featuring everything from how-to makeup tutorials to recipe suggestions and tech tips, is basically the mecca for any and everything DIY.

Once you log on, you’ll be greeted by a super intuitive interface that can connect you to other makers, allow you to browse hundreds of DIY guides and ideas, and show you how to create your own how-to tutorials.

And if you find yourself stuck on any one project, just ask for help directly from the app’s wide-ranging, ultra-helpful community. They’ve got your back.

iPhone rating: ★★★★✩

Price: Free

Craftgawker is kind of Pinterest, but entirely devoted to crafting projects. On it, you’ll find a curated assortment of thousands of various DIY project ideas and how to execute them.

Each project submitted by a user is reviewed by editors to ensure only the highest quality, most viable projects are shared.

You’ll also discover how many people have tried and favorited a project, tips for completing it successfully, and be able to create your own page featuring all your favorites in one place. This app is perfect to get your creative juices flowing!

iPhone rating: ★★★★★

Android rating: ★★★★✩

Price: Free

What if you could save money and get your DIY on? Well, BrightNest makes it incredibly easy to do that with its wealth of guidance and instructions for pretty much every home maintenance task you can imagine.

Whether you’re looking for advice on repairing your washing machine, tips on making cleaning more efficient, or guidance on checking for mold, this app has you covered.

It also comes with a scheduler that you can use to set daily reminders and notifications customized to your home to ensure it’s as clean and orderly as can be.

iPhone rating: ★★★★★

Price: Free

If you prefer creative projects that don’t involve getting your hands (or house) dirty, then you’ll definitely want to give a little love to Makr. In addition to providing you with an easy way to create custom graphics all on your own, it can also save you a boatload of money.

You can make everything from wedding invitations and business cards to custom T-shirts, straight from this free app. And that means you don’t have to pay someone a fortune to do it for you, and you’re in control of the whole process.

It’s also incredibly easy to navigate, so no design experience is necessary to make a stunning design in a snap.

iPhone rating: ★★★★★

Android rating: ★★★★✩

Price: Free

Whether you’re struggling with motivation to complete your DIY project or you’re someone who learns better with more structure — sometimes more than a basic how-to is necessary to get our crafty juices flowing. Enter: Craftsy.

This app is essentially an all-inclusive class for nearly any project under the sun. Their classes feature videos from esteemed instructors, discussions from other students, and even links to purchase all of the supplies you need to complete any given project.

It’s basically a crafty classroom in your pocket.

iPhone rating: ★★★★✩

Android rating: ★★★★✩

Price: $1.99

If your DIY goals involve home improvements, then you definitely want to add this app to your proverbial toolbox. That’s because it essentially is a toolbox. iHandy will transform your phone into five different home improvement tools with near-perfect precision.

There are three different leveling tools that ensure your photos, surfaces, and walls are well-aligned, as well as a ruler and a protractor to make certain your project is executed with precision and polish.

Now, you can finally get to hanging those pictures on the wall — and in a straight line, at that!

iPhone rating: ★★★★★

Android rating: ★★★★★

Price: $2.99

Scrapbooks make amazing keepsakes, but the tedious cutting, gluing, and arranging that goes with them can be a real turnoff. That’s what makes Project Life so great.

This app makes it super easy for you to create beautiful, cohesive, and professional-looking scrapbooks in almost no time at all and for zero mess.

Once you’ve arranged your photos and comments in just the way you want them, you can order a professional-looking printed version directly from your phone. Grandma would be so proud!

iPhone rating: ★★★★★

Price: $14.99

This app certainly isn’t the cheapest on the list, but if you’re an aspiring (or expert) quilter, it’s every bit the worthy investment. And it’s equally great for amateur and expert quilters a. Quiltography helps you design your quilt from start to finish.

From inside the app, you can organize your fabric using your camera, design each block of the quilt — including any sashing, borders, or cornerstones — and instantly determine the exact amount of each fabric you need to complete it.

In short, quilting has never been easier.

Source: https://www.healthline.com/health/diy-top-iphone-android-apps

15 things buy-to-let landlords need to know in 2020 – Which? News

The Best DIY and How-To Tutorials To Improve Your Home of October 2020

As we head into a new year, buy-to-let landlords face another swathe of complications, from an overhaul of the eviction process to confusion over local licensing.

It’s a tricky time to be a landlord, but Which? can help you get your head around the various regulations you’ll need to be aware of when investing in buy-to-let.

Here are our 15 top tips on what to watch out for in 2020.

1. Mortgage interest tax relief changes

The government has been phasing out tax relief on mortgage interest since April 2017, with the proportion you’re allowed to deduct slowly being reduced each tax year.

This will come to a head in April, at the start of the 2020-21 tax year.

From then, you’ll only be able to subtract a flat credit of 20% of your mortgage expenses from your rental income when filing your tax return.

These changes to tax relief are controversial, and have long been cited as one of the primary reasons landlords are selling their buy-to-let.

  • Find out more: mortgage interest tax relief

2. Letting fees ban

In 2019, letting agents in England and Wales were banned from charging fees to tenants.

In England, the changes also involved deposits being capped at five weeks’ rent, or six weeks’ on tenancies where the annual rent is more than £50,000.

While these moves were designed to crack down on letting agents overcharging, they’ve had a knock-on effect on landlords, who now face the burden of paying for processes such as referencing and inventory checks.

Letting agent fees are already banned in Scotland. Northern Ireland hasn’t introduced an outright ban, but tenants can formally complain if they’re asked to pay fees that solely ‘benefit the landlord’.

  • Find out more: letting agent fees bans in England and Wales.

3. Section 21 evictions

‘No fault’ evictions were a major topic of debate towards the end of 2019, with the government consulting on repealing Section 21 of the Housing Act.

Section 21 allows landlords to end a ‘rolling’ tenancy with two months’ notice, without giving any reason for doing so.

The government believes repealing Section 21 will offer tenants greater security, but landlords fear the proposed changes could mean they have to take troublesome tenants to court to repossess homes.

The National Landlords Association says the proposals are ‘ill thought through’ and that Section 21 should remain unless the rules around evicting problematic tenants are reviewed.

4. Local licensing

Landlords operating Houses in Multiple Occupation (HMOs) are ly to be up to speed with the licensing rules adopted in October 2018, but confusion remains around other local licensing schemes.

More than 60 councils in England operate ‘additional’ or ‘selective’ schemes. The former adds extra stipulations to the mandatory HMO rules, while the latter can apply to every landlord within the area.

Local licensing schemes have faced significant criticism, with some councils failing to make landlords aware of the requirements and suffering huge processing delays.

In November 2019, data from Nottingham City Council showed it had only successfully issued 472 licences, despite receiving 17,523 applications from landlords.

The Residential Landlords Association described Nottingham’s scheme as ‘a farce’ and a ‘purely money-making bureaucratic exercise’.

  • Find out more: the areas where landlords need licences

5. Changes to private residence relief

An overhaul of property residence relief rules could hit smaller landlords with higher capital gains tax bills when they sell their property.

Currently, you can claim up to £40,000 in capital gains tax relief if you let a property that is, or has been, your main home – even if you haven’t lived in it for a long time.

From April, this loophole will be closed, and landlords will need to be living in the property in shared occupancy with the tenant* at the time of the sale to claim the relief.

6. Energy efficiency rules

From April 2020, more landlords will need to meet the new Minimum Energy Efficiency Standard (MEES) regulations, which require rented homes to have a minimum Energy Performance Certificate (EPC) rating of E.

Landlords with properties that don’t meet the regulations must carry out energy efficiency measures on their homes, up to a cap of £3,500 a property.

The rules were first introduced in 2018, but originally only covered new tenancies and renewals. From April, however, they’ll apply to all existing tenancies.

  • Find out more: landlords face energy efficiency bills of £3,500

7. Electrical checks

In July 2018, the government announced plans to make landlords carry out electrical safety checks on their homes every five years.

So far, however, it has yet to set a start date for these checks to be introduced.

This could happen in 2020, but it’s ly that landlords and managing agents will be given at least six months’ notice before implementation.

After implementation, a two-year transitional period will apply, with new tenancies being brought under the regulations first, followed by existing tenancies a year later.

8. Client money protection schemes

New rules introduced in April 2019 mean that all letting agents in England must belong to a client money protection scheme.

This provides insurance to landlords and tenants a against malpractice from agents.

Agents in Wales and Scotland also need to belong to a scheme as part of the Rent Smart Wales and Letting Agent Code of Practice respectively.

  • Find out more: choosing a letting agent

9. Rogue landlord database

The rogue landlord database has been something of a damp squib so far.

A Freedom of Information request by the Guardian found that only four landlords were added to the database in its first year.

In July, the government said it plans to open up the database to tenants, allowing them to check whether their landlord or managing agent was included.

Following this, it launched a consultation into reforming the database, which closed in October. It is currently analysing the responses.

10. Stamp duty

Stamp duty has been towards the top of the list of landlord gripes since 2016, when the government introduced a 3% buy-to-let stamp duty surcharge for property investors.

Now, the latest rumours are that a new stamp duty surcharge could be brought in for foreign buyers investing in UK property.

Whatever happens, stamp duty is always an area of political interest and is certainly something landlords should keep an eye on.

11. Right to Rent

The government’s Right to Rent initiative has provoked much debate since being launched in 2016, and that’s unly to change this year.

Right to Rent requires landlords to check whether tenants have the right to live in the UK, with the threat of criminal sanctions for those who fail to adhere.

In March 2019, the policy was ruled incompatible with human rights law by the High Court after an immigrant welfare group raised a legal challenge.

As part of the ruling, Right to Rent cannot be rolled out in Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland without further evaluation.

12. Leasehold reforms

The government’s attempts to stop unfair leasehold practices – such as spiralling ground rent clauses and high ‘permission fees’ – could finally come to fruition in 2020.

This is ly to involve the banning of new houses being sold as leasehold, and the possibility of caps on service charges, permission fees and ground rents.

The Competition and Markets Authority is currently investigating whether existing leasehold homeowners were mis-sold their properties.

The uncertainty in this area means landlords should pay particular attention to the tenure of properties if they plan to expand their portfolios in 2020.

  • Find out more: buying a leasehold property

13. Property prices

Last year was a slow one for the property market, with the most recent Land Registry data showing that UK prices increased by just 1.3% year-on-year.

With this in mind, landlords can’t rely as heavily on property price growth as they once might have done.

This has resulted in some investors looking to cheaper markets in the north of the country in search of better rental yields.

If you’re thinking of expanding your portfolio in 2020, it’s especially important to conduct thorough research before investing.

14. Mortgage rates

Buy-to-let mortgage rates fell steadily over the course of 2019, to reach an average of 3% in December.

With the price war between lenders ly to continue early in 2020, it’s a great opportunity to consider refinancing your portfolio and lock in a great rate.

One word of advice: always price up the full cost of the deal rather than focusing on the initial rate and any incentives such as cashback.

For example, cashback of £1,000 might sound great on paper but set against a large upfront fee or higher interest rate it’ll quickly lose any attraction.

15. The economy, Brexit and government intervention

Last but certainly not least, landlords will need to ready themselves for more economic peaks and troughs in 2020.

Depending on the outcome of Brexit, the Bank of England base rate could shift in either direction, having an effect on mortgage rates.

In addition, any further economic uncertainty could mean this slower property market continues through 2020.

And with a new government sure to impose its own plans on the buy-to-let industry, it’s more important than ever for landlords to keep an eye on the latest developments.

  • Find out more: what will Brexit mean for house prices?

Which? advice for landlords

Source: https://www.which.co.uk/news/2020/01/15-things-buy-to-let-landlords-need-to-know-in-2020/

Exterior Deck Painting Tutorial

The Best DIY and How-To Tutorials To Improve Your Home of October 2020

Our amazing friends and neighbors have a beautiful a-frame cabin. Just before social distancing began, Emmett & I decided we would surprise them with a deck makeover. As things escalated, this project made more and more sense… we could paint and style their porch without having to be in contact with them, while giving them a safe place to enjoy outside of their home.

Of course they knew we were up to something (and gave us free rein to do whatever we wanted), but we snuck into their backyard and began to makeover their porch in the woods. It’s truly a picturesque spot and as promised- I have the first part of the post for you today… the best (and fastest) way to paint a deck.

Click through for the complete tutorial and for some pretty crazy before and after images!

*This post is sponsored by Lowe’s. All content, ideas, and words are my own. Thank you for supporting the brands that allow us to create unique content while featuring products we actually use & enjoy!

As always, let’s start with a before and after! I’m continually amazed by the transformative power of paint. We were able to totally change the look of their deck on a tight budget. Emmett and I hauled over a few of our key tools, our Graco paint sprayer, and went to work.

Doesn’t it look a thousand times better? Obviously I have yet to install lighting and style the space with furniture, but even with the updated paint- it feels fresh and new again.

PS… does that coffee table in the before image look familiar? It should- we gave it to them after they moved in, but it used to live in the backyard at our previous home.

Ready for the tutorial? I’m linking everything we used for this transformation below!

SUPPLIES + TOOLS

Step 1 // Power wash. After removing the furniture and taking down the existing string lights, the first step was to clean and power wash the entire deck.

We’ve had our Sun Joe pressure washer for a few years now and it’s an affordable tool that we use every spring and summer.

If you’re in the market- I’d highly recommend this option! The goal of power washing was to remove any large, loose peeling paint and debris.

Step 2 // Lightly sand. Once the deck was nice and clean, we decided to lightly sand it. This step is dependent on the shape of your existing paint, stain, and wood. Our neighbor’s deck had multiple (old) coats of this Thompson’s sealant and stain. While it’s a great product, we didn’t love the orange look of it, and the previous homeowners didn’t maintain it.

It seemed to be well over a decade old and was in really rough shape. The power washer helped to strip any peeling pieces away, but we really needed to sand down some rough areas. By lightly sanding the entire deck, we also ensured our new stain and sealer would bond properly.

Just a light sanding is all you need, and tools make this process pretty quick as opposed to sanding by hand!

Step 3 // Edge difficult areas with a brush. We landed on Valspar Tintable Exterior Stain and Sealer, and used 5 gallons in the color “Darkest Night”.

Before busting out our paint sprayer, we edged the difficult areas by hand using a brush.

I trimmed out sections close to the house, around the window, railing areas that were difficult to maneuver, and the top side of the beams.

Step 4 // Prep the paint sprayer. Our Graco paint sprayer is probably the best investment we’ve made in our painting arsenal (you can probably tell by the looks of it, just how much we use this thing).

We can easily and quickly tackle paint projects… even a giant deck of this scale with difficult to reach areas. Before using the sprayer, we hooked up the hoses accordingly, and connected it to our 5-gallon bucket of paint.

Step 5 // Mask it off and start spraying. Before we started spraying, we masked everything off with 3M masking tape and film. We wanted to protect the house from the high-contrast black paint.

The homeowners are planning to paint the entire exterior someday, but aren’t quite sure when… so until then, we want it to look crisp, intentional, and free of dark paint.

 Emmett hopped into his Tyvek suit and we were ready to roll.

The entire deck took under an hour to spray. Can you believe that?! Prep and masking are the most time consuming parts of the process. Once you’re ready to spray, it goes really FAST. He hit the top, the sides, the underside, and covered every square inch of their a-frame’s porch. After we had completely covered the deck in paint, we moved onto the last step… cleaning up.

Step 6 // Clean up. We made sure to clean up all of our tools, paint products, and thoroughly clean our paint sprayer before packing everything up and trekking back to our house. Ready for the final side-by-side before and after?!

All paint is magical and transformative, but black paint will forever be my favorite for disguising imperfect wood or exterior structures that have aged. Doesn’t it feel fresh again? I also how it better blends with its environment and those beautiful trees.

I’m anxiously awaiting the remainder of the outdoor furniture to arrive, so we can style this space and finish it for our friends to enjoy. We’re hoping by the end of the month or early next month, we’ll have everything we need to wrap this up.

I also want to send a big thank you to Lowe’s for helping us help others. They truly have everything you need at affordable prices to turn your space into an outdoor oasis. Stay tuned for the final reveal, my friends! I think our neighbors are going to be pleasantly surprised.

I’ll be sure to capture their reaction, but so far- they’re digging the black paint.

Have you ever painted a deck or porch? I’m always impressed how drastically you can change the look of it on a budget. Let me know if you have any questions in the comment section below. I can’t wait to show you more of this deck and the charming a-frame that belongs to our friends!

Founder & Creative Director

Source: https://roomfortuesday.com/exterior-deck-painting-tutorial/

All DIYs — The Sorry Girls

The Best DIY and How-To Tutorials To Improve Your Home of October 2020
IKEA Hack 3-Drawer to 4-Drawer Dresser DIY!

How to turn a three drawer IKEA pine dresser into a four drawer mid-century modern themed dresser!

Read More DIY Island-Themed Hand Embroidery

Learn how to get started with hand embroidery and make this super cute island scene as the perfect statement art piece!

Read More I DIY'd a Thrifted Dresser into a Pinterest Bathroom Vanity!

Check out how I turned a thrifted mid-century modern dresser into my dream Pinterest bathroom vanity!

Read More Make Your Own Yoga Mat Strap!

Is there anything better than macrame and yoga? Learn how to DIY your own Macrame yoga mat strap!

Read More DIY Airpods Keychain Case

Make this super simple and chic DIY Airpods keychain case to never lose those babies again!

Read More DIY Hanging Pillow Headboard

Make this DIY hanging pillow headboard!

Read More Make Your Own Travel Utensil Holder!

We LOVE gifting eco-friendly gifts over the holidays! Make your fave busy-bee friend this super cute utensil roll!

Read More DIY Industrial Pipe Side Table

Today we are making this really sweet industrial pipe side table from scratch!

Read More DIY Industrial Glass Wall!

Our friend Wendy (of With Wendy) gave us a call and asked us to help her DIY this AMAZING metal and glass room divider. To save money and make it much lighter, we decided to make it plexiglass and wood! It was pretty complex to make, but here’s generally how we did it.

Read More IKEA Pet Upcycles

We know you guys love pet diys. We also know you guys love IKEA upcycles. Why not have both?! Today, we are going to be making some DIYs for some of our fave pets some dope IKEA finds! 

Read More Five DIY Disney Ear Ideas!

The Sorry Girls team went to Disneyland together! Each member of the team chose a Disney character to Disneybound as, and made a pair of ears to match that character. Here are five ear ideas for your next Disney trip!

Read More Ten DIYs You Can Do In Your Dorm Room!

College life can be hard + dorms can be SO boring. Here’s a list of our fave DIYs that can be done in your dorm room with easy to access supplies!

Read More Recreating Failed DIYs!

Sooo sometimes we DIY things that we aren’t that happy with but still end up in our videos. Today we are taking some of those old failed DIYs and making them again the way they were meant to be made! Let’s get started

Read More Three Ways to Fix Broken Ceramics!

Have you guys seen the viral video where someone fixes a sink with ramen noodles? Ridiculous right? Totally not do-able right? We’re here to find out.

Read More That Cost How Much?! – Plant Stand Edition

Today it’s time to ask ourselves once again, That Cost How Much?!. This time we aren’t grabbing multiple items from the same crazy expensive store, but are looking for plant stands from a bunch of different stores (because plant stands can be stupid expensive).

Read More DIY Merch to Save You Money

Something a lot of people don’t realize about loving something is that it kind of costs a lot of money! But we’re here to save you tons of money and let you show your pride for your fave things! Let’s get started!

Read More DIY Photo Backdrops

Do you need a cool photo backdrop for your prom, professional headshot, or just for fun?! You’ve come to the right place! Today we are going to be making three totally easy and affordable photo backdrops!

Read More DIY Butterfly and Bee Houses!

Spring has sprung which means it’s time to welcome all kinds of new friends into our backyards! And we’re not talking human friends – we’re talking bees and butterflies!

Read More How To Style Shelves!

Today we’re tackling a problem that everyone who wants to decorate runs into, how the heck do I style my shelves?!

Read More DIY Faux Terrazzo Table!

Today, Kelsey attempted (and finally succeeded) in creating the terrazzo table of her dreams. We say ‘finally succeeded’ because there have been a couple attempts before this one, including lots of concrete, glass pieces, and broken dreams.

Read More

Source: https://www.thesorrygirls.com/all-diys

10 Best Craft Blogs for Tutorials, Tips, and Daily Inspiration

The Best DIY and How-To Tutorials To Improve Your Home of October 2020

Photo: MONNKA via Shutterstock
This post may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase, My Modern Met may earn an affiliate commission. Please read our disclosure for more info.

A good craft blog can provide endless inspiration and guidance. Whether you love embroidery, quilting, making paper flowers, or simply sprucing up your home with some good DIY projects, there is something for everyone. Many good crafting blogs also incorporate lifestyle tips, while others provide comprehensive tutorials focused on one particular craft.

Of course, Pinterest is a great source of inspiration, but the best craft blogs are a fundamental resource to help you elevate your work. Elevate your crafting to the next level by getting new project ideas or find a new favorite craft by seeing what’s out there.  Take a look at our curated list of the 10 best DIY and craft blogs for daily inspiration and endless knowledge.

A Beautiful Mess – Sisters Elsie and Emma run this hugely successful blog, which includes tons of craft projects, from jewelry and fashion to decor and DIY skincare. There are also tons of yummy recipes to help you live a well-rounded, crafty lifestyle.

Design*Sponge – Design*Sponge is a popular website that also encompasses topics travel and shopping, but their DIY section is a treasure trove for crafters. Whether you want to make some new shelves to spruce up your house or create the perfect paper flower arrangement for your next dinner party, there’s no shortage of advice and inspiration.

Bluprint – Gardening, woodwork, cake decorating…You name it and Bluprint has an article about it—it also runs online classes, so there might even be a course on the topic of your choosing.

On top of all of that, Bluprint also sells supplies, so it’s easy to stock up on things to complete your favorite project.

And if you’re simply looking for tips on how to improve, whether it’s advice on how to make a straight topstitch or learning new watercolor techniques, you’ll find that here as well.

Heart Handmade – This site features tons of DIY tutorials in areas lettering, crochet, and papercraft. You’ll also find decorating tips to spruce up your home or office.

Hello Hydrangea  – Lindsey Campbell’s brand and blog is all about weaving. She runs online courses and even has a book, Welcome to Weaving, the Modern Guide. Hello Hydrangea’s blog is a fantastic resource for tips on how to improve your weaving techniques.

Honestly WTF  – This lifestyle blog has a great DIY section with tutorials on everything from latch hook wall hangings to embroidered straw bags. Always fashionable and current, the projects are also quite detailed and easy to follow.

Paper & Stitch – Broken up into useful categories Weekend Projects, Paper Goods, and Holidays, there’s tons to explore on Paper & Stitch. The site also has an extensive section about interior design, broken down by style, color, interest, and room.

P.S. – I Made This – Created by Erica Domesek, this site is designed to “inspire and empower people around the globe to cultivate their inner-creativity and embrace the ever-growing do-it-yourself (DIY) way of life.” Launched in 2009, there are hundreds of projects with step-by-step instructions to browse through.

Purl – This New York City needle crafting store has a great section for projects on its website. If you are into knitting, crocheting, felting, or any form of needlework, you’ll find endless inspiration in their easy to follow “create” section.

The Spruce Crafts  – Broken into sections needlecrafts, papercrafts, DIY, and beadwork, this site is a wonderful resource for both novice and advanced crafters. Newbies will enjoy articles 15 Stitches Every Embroiderer Should Know, while more experienced readers will appreciate all the free patterns and project advice.

Top 25 Art Blogs to Jump Start Your Creativity

13 of the Best Creative Podcasts Offering Great Advice and Endless Inspiration

15 Top Photography Blogs to Elevate Your Craft and Inspire Your Work

Source: https://mymodernmet.com/best-craft-blogs-diy-inspiration/