How Can I Hard Reset My IPhone?

How do you hard reset an Apple iPhone?

Restart your iPhonePress and hold either volume button and the side button until the power off slider appears.Drag the slider, then wait 30 seconds for your device to turn off.To turn your device back on, press and hold the side button (on the right side of your iPhone) until you see the Apple logo..

What do I lose if I hard reset my iPhone?

When you Erase All Content and Settings, it completely resets your device. All information including apps, photos, videos, contacts, messages, calendar, or music etc. are lost. In order to restore your iPhone after factory reset, first take the backup of data in iCloud or iTunes.

Can you reset a locked iPhone?

If you forgot the passcode on your iPhone, or your iPhone is disabled. … If you can’t remember your passcode, you’ll need to erase your iPhone, which deletes your data and settings, including the passcode. If you backed up your iPhone, you can restore your data and settings after restoring your iPhone.

What does a hard reset on iPhone do?

The iPhone Hard Reset The hard reset is when you restart the phone and refresh the memory in which the apps run. One of the better times to do it would be when the device has frozen. Like the soft reset, it does not delete data, so it is safe to do without backing up the phone.

What does a hard reset do?

Unfortunately, some people use “hard reset” when they really mean factory-reset. A factory reset results in a full reset of an Android device to the original settings of the currently-installed ROM. This process deletes all user data and user installed apps, so the device looks like it came fresh out of the box.

How do you bypass a locked iPhone?

With iOS 11, you can still bypass the iPhone lock screen and trick Siri into getting into a person’s phone. The bypass is the same as it was in the earlier version of the operating system: Press the home button using a finger not associated with your fingerprint authentication, prompting Siri to wake up.

Does hard reset delete everything iPhone?

A hard reset will restore the iPhone’s setting to its initial configuration by clearing all the third-party applications, data, user settings, saved passwords, and user accounts. The process would delete all stored data on the iPhone.

How do I hard reset my iPhone with buttons?

Just press and hold both the Sleep/Wake and Home buttons simultaneously for at least 10 seconds, until you see the Apple logo. You can let go of both buttons after the Apple logo appears.Your phone will go through the usual process of starting up.You’ll be back in your home screen.

Does a hard reset delete anything?

Hard Reset: Hard reset is a proper reset and it deletes everything on the phone (option may be different) and sometimes doesn’t supports few options. In hard reset, you clear the entire phone or even update it with other operating system if your phone supports the SD Card based installation.

How do I force my iPhone to factory reset?

Factory-reset your iPhoneTo reset your iPhone or iPad, go to Settings > General > Reset and then select Erase All Content and Settings.If you’ve got an iCloud backup set up, iOS will ask if you’d like to update it, so you don’t lose unsaved data.More items…•

How do I factory reset my iPhone without password or iTunes?

Part 4: How to factory reset iPhone without iTunesDirectly go to “Settings” > General > Reset.Select the “Erase All Content and Settings” option.Enter your password and tap on “Erase iPhone”.

How do you do a hard reset on an iPhone 7?

To force restart (hard reset) the iPhone 7, press and hold the Sleep/Wake button + Volume Down button for 10 seconds. Because of the Home button change, it’s been replaced by the Volume Down button during the process.

Does a hard reset on iPhone 7 erase everything?

The hard reset is a lot more dramatic. It totally erases all the information on your iPhone 7 and restores it to factory settings, which is why the hard reset is also known as a factory reset.

Will I lose everything if I force restart my iPhone?

An ordinary reboot of your phone — which Apple calls a restart — does not cause you to lose data, except for any unsaved files you have open in apps without autosave. … Slide the bar across the screen to shut down the phone. After the screen shuts off, hold the “Sleep/Wake” button again until the device starts up.

How do you wipe an iPhone without the password?

iTunes is the best method to erase your iPhone without passcode. It is Apple’s proprietary device management software that allows users to make a backup of their device as well as restore it to default settings. You can use iTunes to restore your locked iPhone and erase it without a passcode.