Quick Answer: What Is The Difference Between Reset All Settings And Erase All Content?

Does a hard reset on iPhone 7 erase everything?

The hard reset is a lot more dramatic.

It totally erases all the information on your iPhone 7 and restores it to factory settings, which is why the hard reset is also known as a factory reset..

Does erasing iPhone delete iCloud?

No, factory resetting your iPhone will not alter your iCloud. Upon setting up your iPhone again you will be given the option to reconnect to your iCloud account if you desire. iCloud also stores iPhone backups that you can restore your phone from.

Does reset all settings remove Apple ID?

The option Erase all content and settings is making the phone brand new with no configurations. This will remove your Apple ID, apps, etc.

Does reset all settings delete WIFI passwords?

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes occur when you reset network settings. Stored Wi-Fi networks are deleted.

How long does it take to reset all settings on iPhone?

Required Time Typically, resetting your iPhone doesn’t take very long at all. Once the reset command has been entered, the phone will reboot with all data removed. Restart usually takes a few minutes, not counting the time required to reconfigure your iPhone’s settings.

How do I get rid of screen time?

If you don’t see a Profiles & Device Management section in the settings, then please skip this step, the profile has already been removed. Uninstall the Screen Time app in the normal way by holding your finger on the app until all of the apps start wobbling, then press the X in the corner of the app to delete.

What will happen if I reset all settings?

A factory data reset erases your data from the phone. While data stored in your Google Account can be restored, all apps and their data will be uninstalled….Important: A factory reset erases all your data from your phone.Open your phone’s Settings app.Tap Accounts. … You’ll find a Google Account username.

What’s the difference between reset all settings and erase all content and settings on iPhone?

Reset all Settings removes things like your Wifi password and settings you’ve set on your iPad for Apps, mail, etc. Erase All Content and Settings restores a device to it’s out of the box state when it was first turned on. You should use Erase All Content and Settings to get it ready for the next owner.

Does reset all settings delete photos?

Apple offers several ways to restore the default iPhone settings without deleting your data like Photos, messages, notes, email, music, videos, and other content. While the “Reset All Settings” option won’t delete your content, the one thing it does remove is Apple Pay cards. … No data or media are deleted.

What should I check before resetting my iPhone?

Remove your personal information from your old deviceIf you paired an Apple Watch with your iPhone, unpair your Apple Watch.Back up your device.Sign out of iCloud and the iTunes & App Store. … Go back to Settings and tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.More items…•

How do I reset my Iphone without losing everything?

To reset the settings on your device go to Settings >> General then scroll down and tap the Reset button at the bottom. On the Reset screen tap Reset All Settings – Not Erase All Content and Settings – then you’ll need to verify you want to do it twice. It should only take a couple of minutes at most.

How long does it take to reset all settings on iPhone 7?

The “iOS smart reset” takes less than 1 minute if no no user data is found on the device. The erasure standard “Apple iOS erasure” erases the device using Cryptographic Erase. This takes 5-15 minutes.

What will I lose if I reset my iPhone?

Reset after iCloud or iTunes backup When you Erase All Content and Settings, it completely resets your device. All information including apps, photos, videos, contacts, messages, calendar, or music etc. are lost. In order to restore your iPhone after factory reset, first take the backup of data in iCloud or iTunes.

Can you wipe a stolen iPhone?

To cut down on ‌iPhone‌ theft, Apple implemented a tool way back in iOS 7 called Activation Lock that renders an ‌iPhone‌ unusable without the owner’s Apple ID or password. … Your ‌iPhone‌ can even be wiped completely and it will still be locked down, making it almost useless to anyone but you.

How do I clear my iPhone for trade in?

How to Factory Reset Your ‌iPhone‌Unlock your ‌iPhone‌ or iPad and launch the Settings app.Tap General.Scroll to the bottom and tap Reset.Tap Erase All Content and Settings.Tap in your passcode if requested.Enter your ‌Apple ID‌ password to erase the ‌iPhone‌ and remove it from your account.Tap Erase.

How do I clear a virus from my iPhone?

How To Remove a Virus from iPhoneRestart your iPhone. One of the easiest ways to get rid of a virus is by restarting your device. … Clear your browsing data and history. … Restore your phone from a previous backup version. … Reset all content and settings.

What does erase all content and settings do?

Performing a Factory Reset WILL PERMANENTLY DELETE ALL of your data & customized settings, and will also remove any installed Applications.Performing a Factory Reset WILL NOT remove the data & files that are stored on the microSD card in your device.

Does resetting iPhone delete everything?

Resetting your iPhone basically erases all of your personal information from the phone. The factory settings will, however, be retained. It’s a straightforward and no iPhone reset code is required.

How do I completely wipe my iPhone?

How to erase all data from your iPhone or iPadLaunch the Settings app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad.Now tap on General.Scroll to the bottom and tap on Reset. … Tap on Erase All Content and Settings.Tap on Erase Now.Enter your Passcode.More items…•